Belém Tower (Alternatively: Embrace Your Mistakes)

by wondrousdavid


Castle_stich

This picture is of Belem Tower, an impressive building found in Lisbon.

My intention was to do a new photo stitch on a very large scale, I had in mind a rather pretentious (and silly) idea of taking all the pictures from slightly different angles and showing a truly 3D-2D world. What it actually looks like is (as one could expect) a mess.

there are several reasons for this, and as it is always best to learn from ones (or someone else’s) mistakes I shall go through them for you.

1. The pictures are all taken with different lighting conditions.

2. I did not use a tripod

3. If I really wanted to take it from different angles I should of actually taken all angles possible to slowly stitch up. Show one side of a cube you get a square, show two sides that do not connect and you get two squares etc.

4. (Perhaps the most important) I did not think through what I wanted to achieve, I just blindly clicked away.

So with these 4 tips in mind a reader could (and quite probably should) ask: “Why not through away the picture? Why did you keep and PUBLISH it for all to laugh at?” This is for a very simple reason: I like it. Sure it doesn’t work; a tower is appearing out of the sea, all the images are different colours and nothing really matches up. With all this in mind I still think of it as quite a silly, fun picture and one that I can see not just what I wanted to achieve but how I can do so next time.

And so with his in mind I have created a new category called “Embrace Your Mistakes” and a new Flickr Set of the same name. I am going to carry on posting and sharing not just pictures I am proud of but pictures that completely failed in my aims.

So remember this: Anyone can take a good picture of Belém Tower, it takes someone special to create a really bad one.

