The Sky at Night

by wondrousdavid

IMG_7720

Apologies for not blogging in a while. I have been up in Scotland shooting and editing an advert, it has been very time consuming but now it’s almost done I can turn my attention onto the more important things in life: you, my dear readers.

Theses picture were taken a few nights ago. Like everyone else I am stunned by the night sky and love looking up at the stars, although I do have to admit about knowing very little about them. This night was a fabulous example of what the sky really looks like without light pollution. If you want a tutorial on how to take these Astronomy shots I can not recommend this article enough, it has everything that you need to know.

IMG_7687

If I were to stress anything the article doesn’t talk about it would be LUCK. I have been in Scotland for about a month now and this was the first (and only night so far) that I have really been able to see the stars. It’s been far too cloudy up until then, so take your time and look out at the night sky and take any chance you can get!

All the photographs were taken with my trusty 600D and Sigma’s 30mm 1.4. The introductory picture was taken with a 30 second exposure (Bulb manual settings) and the rest were taken with exposures from 10-30 seconds. I have since read you should not go above 13 seconds, while it is true the longer you keep the bulb pressed the more data can be seen it is also true (illustrated if you blow up the photographs) that the pictures will be more blurry with the stars moving. If you like what you see then go to my Flickr set The Sky at Night, I need some help naming what can be seen in them! By all accounts on the introductory photograph you can see theĀ Andromeda Galaxy but apart from that I have no real clue. More will be uploaded soon so please do check them out and tell me what you can see!

IMG_7724

