2014: Lets Raw

by wondrousdavid

Taking a cue from Katy Perry I thought I would start the new year with a raw. This post will also introduce my Dog Benny as my glamorous assistant.

Taking a photograph in Raw format is perhaps the simplest thing you could do to help improve your photographs. Shoot with a DSLR? Then go to your photo settings and select RAW. Simples.

Raw-formats are an unedited photograph, much like a negative with 35mm print cameras it is up to you to so the colouring yourself. I use Adobe (bridge or Photoshop) over the Canon format but there are many software, (some free and others rather expensive) for you to pick, heres a great list for you to decide with. For those like me who always manipulate the colours in post anyway this is a really handy feature as you can play about with the colours until your hearts are content.

Benny!

Using Raw you can also do a cheat HDR effect, I am agnostic with the effect this process gives off, but it’s there if you want. Simply do two versions of the image showing off the most detail and merge them in photoshop, below is one of my attempts froma trip I took last week in Portugal. OK guys, enjoy!

 

castletop

