3D Printing A Lens

by wondrousdavid

With constant spam from Kickstarter and Indegogo about affordable (around $2,000) desktop 3D printers I took to twitter to vent my confusion in 128 characters:

“While I’m glad the future is now, what dos anyone need with a home 3D printer?” 

I got nothing. One could say this is due to my minor twitter following and my minuscule dent in the constant cesspit of twitter self gloats and 24h annoyance. However I would rather see it as proving my point: there really is no need for one. And then I came across this tumblr, where someone has actually printed his own 3D lens. A photograph of what it takes is below, and while nothing special I am deeply amazed by what you can now do in your own living room.

Image

The future really is now! And if you excuse me I am off to buy a 3D printer, you can get on for only $2,000 I here…  

 

